Southall 830-1982

Beverley House on the left hand side, next to the Black Dog, was built for Mr Ben Hanson. Just inside Hammond Road, on the right hand side, a small Gospel Hall was built in 1901. The area of Hammond Road had been brickfields. When housing development commenced the standard of building was very poor.
Between 1902 and 1905 a great change took place in the Uxbridge Road. Old Leggatt’s Smithy and cottage were demolished; South Road widened and what still is the best block of shops erected 1904-5 — twelve between South Road and Herbert Road and three in South Road, the first of which was the National Provincial Bank; the second Arnold and Co., Tobacconists and the third Eastmans and Sons, Dyers and Cleaners. Today, in 1982, the bank is up for sale but Arnolds (there for over 40 years) is still a tobacconists.The first two of those in the Uxbridge Road became known as ‘Butlers Corner’ — Mr Scott was manager. A Men’s Outfitters, it had a rather unique shop front which had an entrance from both sides with doorway in the middle covered from the front with an independent showcase. Sainsbury’s came next, this was built purposely for them and had living accommodation above for staff — a housekeeper was employed — the staff entrance being an iron staircase at the rear.
The other shops were first occupied by United Dairies, Home and Colonial Stores, Hallam (Corn Chandler), Drug Stores, Pridous (Stationers), Hutchings (Butcher), Shellshears (Ironmongers), Haddrells (Furnishers). In 1902 three shops were built on the right hand side between Lady Margaret Road and Greenford Avenue. These became Evans (Paper, Tob.), Fletchers (Butcher) and Talbots (Off Licence). These were to be followed in 1903 with three larger shops on the corner of Lady Margaret Road. The corner one was Francis Waklings (Estate Office) with Rustons (Solicitors) and Blowers (Dentist) above. Another block of nine shops were built on the right hand side between Northcote Avenue and Saxon Road. The first of these was a Bakers with bakehouse at rear and the last, the Standard Wallpaper Company. For a good number of years tenants in the others came and went frequently.
Over The Green things were also moving. On 8th September, 1906 the Working Men’s Club moved into the Chestnuts, with 350 members. The Southall Norwood Public Library was built on the left hand side of. Osterley Park Road, on land given by Messrs Baxter and Gosney, at a cost of £4,000. The gift of the Andrew Carnegie Trust. The foundation stone was laid by Lady Jersey and the opening was 26th July, 1905 by James Bigwood, Esq., MP Chairman of Library Committee, Mr G. Gosney. Books numbered 2,338, Librarian Mr W. L. Coltman.
Two shops which stand out quite differently from all the others on the right hand side of King Street were built in 1901. One was a bank – Woodbridge, Lacy and Company – and the other was Dr MacDonald’s Surgery. The bank – No 8 King Street – became Barclays and in 1909 moved to the corner of Bridge Road when these premises were built. The King Street shop became an Off Licence, a Mr Coulthurst traded there for over 50 years, and it is still an Off Licence today, 1982. On the bend of Featherstone Road is the Territorial Drill Hall, built in 1901. It has housed the Middlesex Yeomanry, a Company of the Middlesex Anti-Aircraft Searchlight Company (RE), this was until 1937 when, due to lack of space for transport, they moved to the new Drill Hall, Uxbridge Road — it had now become a Furniture Depository.